Crystal Space
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 29, 2014, 04:33:45 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
9005 Posts in 2043 Topics by 8251 Members
Latest Member: Reidkendall
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Crystal Space
|-+  Crystal Space Development
| |-+  Support
| | |-+  CVS compiled, can't run demos
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: CVS compiled, can't run demos  (Read 2961 times)
kedi_xed
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« on: May 11, 2005, 04:47:14 pm »

G'day,

  I've been messing around with CS for a while now, trying to get it to run. All was well, but then I encountered the Cal3D viewmesh errors. So I followed the threads on this forum, and downloaded CS through WinCVS, but now none of the demos work(viewmesh, walktest, ...).
The original CS setup still works.

  All programs crashed when their screens displayed, but walktest gave me a crash report.

Here is what it the console.txt file stated:

crystalspace.canvas.openglwin:  GL driver: NV4_DISP 6.14.10.6177
crystalspace.canvas.openglcommon.driverdb:  Applied: GeForce setting: Texture Compression
crystalspace.canvas.openglcommon:  OpenGL renderer: GeForce4 MX 440/AGP/SSE2 (vendor: NVIDIA Corporation) version 1.5.1
crystalspace.canvas.openglcommon:  Using windowed mode at resolution 640x480.
crystalspace.canvas.openglcommon:  Pixel format: Color: 32 Alpha: 8 Depth: 24 Stencil: 8 AccumColor: 64 AccumAlpha: 16 MultiSamples: 0
crystalspace.canvas.openglwin:  VSync is disabled.
crystalspace.engine.notify:  WARNING: Shader std_lighting.xml not available  Failure imminent!

---------
and the callstack.txt file:

[0x04cc6a3b] (D:\Programming\CrystalSpace\NewCS\CS\xmlread.dll)csXmlReadXMLPlugin_Create+0x4c9b
[0x05c97fac] (D:\Programming\CrystalSpace\NewCS\CS\xmlshader.dll)csXMLShaderCompiler_Create+0x26dec
[0x05c711f0] (D:\Programming\CrystalSpace\NewCS\CS\xmlshader.dll)csXMLShaderCompiler_Create+0x30
[0x90909090] (<unknown>)<unknown>

---------

Is it because of my graphics card?

Thanks!!!
Logged
deckerego
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2005, 03:16:30 pm »

Hmmmm... I wonder if the new renderer is trying to use shaders automatically (which the MX cards notoriously omitted).

Try running walktest with the following arguments:
walktest -relight -video=software

This will entirely bypass hardware rendering (and thus bypass the shader support). If it runs, then it *might* be a bug with CS.
Logged
kedi_xed
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2005, 05:38:32 pm »

Hey,
 
 
Quote from: deckerego
walktest -relight -video=software

  Thanks for your reply deckerego. I tried this but i still got the exact
same error, it still attempts to load the xml shader stuff.

 I compiled a very simple CS app, that just initiliased some stuff, and it worked fine. But as soon as I attempt to do anything more, like open a 3D window, it crashes.

I chased it down to this function:
Code:
bool csInitializer::OpenApplication (iObjectRegistry* r)
{
  SetupConfigManager (r, 0);

  // Pass the open event to all interested listeners.
  csRef<iEventQueue> EventQueue (CS_QUERY_REGISTRY (r, iEventQueue));
  CS_ASSERT (EventQueue != 0);
  csRef<iEvent> e(EventQueue->CreateEvent(csevBroadcast));
  e->Command.Code = cscmdSystemOpen;
  e->Command.Info = 0;
  EventQueue->Dispatch(*e);

  return true;
}


And it spits at EventQueue->Dispatch(*e);

I am using Visual C++ 6 with NO service packs installed, but it has only given me trouble once. Is it this, or my graphics card? Is there any other way not to load the shading functionality?
Logged
deckerego
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2005, 05:46:06 pm »

When did you do a checkout from CVS? Is this today's build?
Logged
kedi_xed
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2005, 05:48:23 pm »

Two days ago, the 10th.
Logged
deckerego
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2005, 05:56:06 pm »

Did your CRYSTAL environment variable get switched to the new path of the CVS version?
Logged
kedi_xed
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2005, 06:10:06 pm »

Hey deckerego,

  Yep, that did the trick, thanks. I thought I was in trouble there for a minute. Walktest works fine, even without the software option.

Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 7.192 seconds with 16 queries.