Crystal Space
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 23, 2014, 07:26:03 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
9018 Posts in 2051 Topics by 8501 Members
Latest Member: Dominicgriffin
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Crystal Space
|-+  Crystal Space Projects
| |-+  Project Discussion
| | |-+  Visibility Culling
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] Print
Author Topic: Visibility Culling  (Read 14147 times)
mik
Newbie
*
Posts: 36


View Profile Email
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2008, 01:15:35 pm »

mmm, i have to check the transparency because i'm importing the polygons.

What i want to say with 'polygons are too close' is that some polygons have coordinates very similar. Could that be a problem when Crystal decides wich polygon is in the front and wich in the back?
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2008, 01:20:11 pm »

Normally not. It is more likely that transparency is causing the problem. In any case, I would like to see a screenshot of the problem.

Greetings,
Logged
mik
Newbie
*
Posts: 36


View Profile Email
« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2008, 02:33:05 pm »

Ok, i will check the transparency.

Here i have two screenshots, one bad and the other good, they are an easy example about my problem.


This is the bad one.


This is the good.

As you can see, when i go closer i don't have the problem.

You can see this other screenshot with the problem too:



Thank you very much one more time for your time.
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: December 01, 2008, 02:46:54 pm »

Hmm, at first glance that looks more like z-fighting. i.e. the hardware z-buffer is not that accurate. So when you have a polygon at distance 3.5 and another polygon at distance 3.501 it might be that at some spots on the screen the hardware will render a pixel of polygon 1 while on another pixel it will render a pixel of polygon 2. Since this depends on the accuracy of calculations this can differ if you move around with the camera.

In order to solve this problem I need to know at what scale your models are made? i.e. how high (in CS units) is the player character that I can see in the bottom screenshot?

Greetings,
Logged
mik
Newbie
*
Posts: 36


View Profile Email
« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2008, 11:21:55 am »

I can't know the size of the avatar because i'm importing all data from a binary file, but it has real dimension. The scale is in millimeters with 2 decimals and i'm working inside a box with a minimum point of (0,0,0) and a maximum point of (38517.00, 43744.00, 83209.25). I add some extra size to the sector in order to take a general view with the camera from outside, i'm having some problems with this, but that's another story. How can i resolve the problem of the accuracy?
Logged
mik
Newbie
*
Posts: 36


View Profile Email
« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2008, 01:42:26 pm »

jorrit said:
"I'm sending you a mail because I can no longer login on to the forums
due to technical problems. Your scale is way too much. You should not use
such big numbers for coordinates. 3D cards can't handle that easily. Best is
to scale things down a bit. That will solve your problem.

Greetings,"




Thank you very much one more time Wink
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 5.195 seconds with 17 queries.