Crystal Space
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 28, 2014, 08:22:23 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
9026 Posts in 2046 Topics by 9157 Members
Latest Member: Wolqela
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Crystal Space
|-+  Crystal Space Development
| |-+  General Crystal Space Discussion
| | |-+  csColliderActor
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: csColliderActor  (Read 8189 times)
bernardofd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


59948732 bernardofd@click21.com.br
View Profile WWW
« on: August 11, 2005, 03:23:47 pm »

Hello guys!

I was "peeping" around the CS's API a little and I've came across this class that I haven't noticed before. Is this one a new one? Or just a undocumented one?

I've readed a little, and this sound an easier way to do collision detection in raw CS. But I still haven't unsterstood how I can use this class.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks and regards.
Logged

__________________________
Bernardo Figuerêdo Domingues
Computer Science - UFMG - Brazil
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2005, 04:24:12 pm »

Hello guys!

I was "peeping" around the CS's API a little and I've came across this class that I haven't noticed before. Is this one a new one? Or just a undocumented one?

It is new AND documented (check the collision detection chapter in the manual).

Quote
I've readed a little, and this sound an easier way to do collision detection in raw CS. But I still haven't unsterstood how I can use this class.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks and regards.

Look at the simpmap tutorial (in apps/tutorial/simpmap). It uses csColliderActor.

Greetings,
Logged
bernardofd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


59948732 bernardofd@click21.com.br
View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2005, 06:54:59 pm »

But, to be used, I have to use the CVS version. And, as Marvin (HHGTG) would say: "I've tried to talk to the CVS version of CS... He hates me..."

So, when the stable release (I think you're on the 0.99) will be unleashed?

Regards
Logged

__________________________
Bernardo Figuerêdo Domingues
Computer Science - UFMG - Brazil
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2005, 08:03:43 pm »

But, to be used, I have to use the CVS version. And, as Marvin (HHGTG) would say: "I've tried to talk to the CVS version of CS... He hates me..."

So, when the stable release (I think you're on the 0.99) will be unleashed?

Regards

Current CVS is very stable for us. What problems are you experiencing? If we would release now we would release it in current state (almost) so if it doesn't work for you then we better now smiley

Greetings,
Logged
bernardofd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


59948732 bernardofd@click21.com.br
View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2005, 08:12:50 pm »

Well, it happens that i've the stable 0.98 and the CVS's today snapshot both compiled in a Linux system.

But, when I change the environment variable $CRYSTAL to the CVS's directory, and try to compile my code, it gives me the message:
Quote
Couldn't detect dir with lib files, aborting!
Did you already compile CS? Did you set CRYSTAL environment variable
correctly?
Couldn't detect dir with lib files, aborting!
Did you already compile CS? Did you set CRYSTAL environment variable
correctly?
Couldn't detect dir with lib files, aborting!
Did you already compile CS? Did you set CRYSTAL environment variable
correctly?

My answer is yes for both. But I think that the problem is that I didn't run make install, that because it requires root privileges, which I haven't.

So... It's not your fault! Smiley

Regards
Logged

__________________________
Bernardo Figuerêdo Domingues
Computer Science - UFMG - Brazil
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2005, 08:20:15 pm »

Well, it happens that i've the stable 0.98 and the CVS's today snapshot both compiled in a Linux system.

But, when I change the environment variable $CRYSTAL to the CVS's directory, and try to compile my code, it gives me the message:
Quote
Couldn't detect dir with lib files, aborting!
Did you already compile CS? Did you set CRYSTAL environment variable
correctly?
Couldn't detect dir with lib files, aborting!
Did you already compile CS? Did you set CRYSTAL environment variable
correctly?
Couldn't detect dir with lib files, aborting!
Did you already compile CS? Did you set CRYSTAL environment variable
correctly?

My answer is yes for both. But I think that the problem is that I didn't run make install, that because it requires root privileges, which I haven't.

So... It's not your fault! Smiley

Regards

No you don't have to install CS. That's not needed. In fact I have never done it. My guess is that your configure script is too old (since it dates from 0.98). You probably have to update it to the CVS version. That means make a new copy of mk/m4 and running ./autogen.sh again.

Greetings,
Logged
bernardofd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


59948732 bernardofd@click21.com.br
View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2005, 08:32:42 pm »

But the configure IS from the CVS!

I've both, but I've compiled the 0.98 first...
Logged

__________________________
Bernardo Figuerêdo Domingues
Computer Science - UFMG - Brazil
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2005, 08:38:47 pm »

But the configure IS from the CVS!

I've both, but I've compiled the 0.98 first...

I mean configure of your own app. Not configure of CS.

Greetings,
Logged
bernardofd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


59948732 bernardofd@click21.com.br
View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2005, 08:51:26 pm »

I didn't understand that. My app it's just an .cpp and .h file plus a Makefile (from the 0.98 template). What configure file is that?
Logged

__________________________
Bernardo Figuerêdo Domingues
Computer Science - UFMG - Brazil
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2005, 09:22:07 pm »

I didn't understand that. My app it's just an .cpp and .h file plus a Makefile (from the 0.98 template). What configure file is that?

Hmm... Ok. There is some confusion. I think I'm not understanding fully what your problem is. You say that configure failed to find CS but the configure of CS doesn't need to find CS so I'm a bit confused. Can you describe exactly what the problem is if you use the CVS version of CS?

Greetings,
Logged
bernardofd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


59948732 bernardofd@click21.com.br
View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 11, 2005, 09:52:23 pm »

No. Configure? When I run the makefile to compile my code, it gives me that error messages. I relaized that the problem is within the calls of cs-config, which returns nothing when asked about -libdir.

If I'm going to use csColliderActors, I have to compile my app with the CVS version. For that I've to set the env. var. $CRYSTAL to the installation dir of the CVS version, or at least I think...

What can I do to change the lib's dir for the Makefile?
Logged

__________________________
Bernardo Figuerêdo Domingues
Computer Science - UFMG - Brazil
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2005, 07:21:48 am »

No. Configure? When I run the makefile to compile my code, it gives me that error messages. I relaized that the problem is within the calls of cs-config, which returns nothing when asked about -libdir.

If I'm going to use csColliderActors, I have to compile my app with the CVS version. For that I've to set the env. var. $CRYSTAL to the installation dir of the CVS version, or at least I think...

What can I do to change the lib's dir for the Makefile?

The easiest way to do this is to use the createproject.sh script. There is a section in the manual that describes how to do this. It generates a full build environment for your project.

Greetings,
Logged
bernardofd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


59948732 bernardofd@click21.com.br
View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2005, 03:18:10 pm »

OR type make install as root. And it worked! A little...

The header file that contains the csColliderActor class is the "cstool/collider.h", isn't it?

Well, the new error:
Quote

sisifo:~/csApp/erd/teste2->make
Unknown library: cstool; consult --help for library list
g++   -I/crystalspace/CS/include      -g -o erd.o -c erd.cpp
Logged

__________________________
Bernardo Figuerêdo Domingues
Computer Science - UFMG - Brazil
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2005, 03:22:40 pm »

OR type make install as root. And it worked! A little...

The header file that contains the csColliderActor class is the "cstool/collider.h", isn't it?

Well, the new error:
Quote

sisifo:~/csApp/erd/teste2->make
Unknown library: cstool; consult --help for library list
g++   -I/crystalspace/CS/include      -g -o erd.o -c erd.cpp

Yes, the libraries have changed. There is now a single crystalspace library and no longer the others. Check the manual (appendix) where the changes between 0.98 and now are documented.

Greetings,
Logged
kornerr
Full Member
***
Posts: 101


347968356
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2006, 03:06:06 pm »

Well, I've looked into simpmap tut. Added csColliderActor and... I'm falling down all the way in my app (based on simple1).
Why?
I have this:
Code:
- - - -
    room = engine->CreateSector ("room");
    /*csRef<iMeshWrapper>*/ walls = engine->CreateSectorWallsMesh (room, "walls");
    csRef<csColliderWrapper> col_walls = csColliderHelper::InitializeCollisionWrapper
        (cd_sys, walls);
- - - -
Doesn't it create room with a "solid" floor?
How to do things the right way?

Thanks.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 5.234 seconds with 15 queries.