Crystal Space
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 31, 2014, 01:12:12 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
9011 Posts in 2044 Topics by 8898 Members
Latest Member: Anitelc
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Crystal Space
|-+  Crystal Space Development
| |-+  Support
| | |-+  Loading Maps
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Loading Maps  (Read 2996 times)
Urbanist
Guest
« on: April 13, 2005, 03:24:05 pm »

I'm having problems with walktest loading maps.

I'm I have a .zip file then it loads quite happly. (so myworld.zip is fine)
this zip was build with the Hammer/map2cs

If I expand the .zip to be a directory then suddenly walktest complains it cannot open the same world.

Any suggestions ?
Logged
Urbanist
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2005, 03:33:41 pm »

walktests works with flarge which is a directory. ( with a world inside it)

If I move the world document from from flage into the mytest folder then the thing will sill not open.

Is there another stupid conf file I'm missing ?
Logged
Urbanist
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2005, 04:07:45 pm »

Ok so I have a map 'which cannot be found' when opened from a folder. IF I transplant the world xml document and the textures to the partsys folder then the the world can be opened in the Walktest and with the simplemap code.

but wait there is more. In the walktest app the world has solidity ( ie wall collison detection) but in simplemap you can walk straight thru them. But if you have a much simpler world ( just a few walls ) then collison works in both.

I'm not getting consistant results with the Mac OS X Version of this code.

any suggestions ? ( appart from buy a mac laptop that is).
Logged
deckerego
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2005, 05:20:02 pm »

Did you change your VFS.cfg to point to your map's directory?
Logged
Urbanist
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2005, 12:37:12 pm »

Yes altering the VFS.cfg file worked.

So the conclusion is you can open aMyGameworld.zip with a little difficulty ( follow the source in walktest kinda works most of the time)

if you want to use a pure directory you need to add that directory to the VFS.cfg file
Logged
deckerego
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2005, 03:56:41 pm »

It's more of how walktest loads paths and what it considers the current working directory and how it loads files relative to the current working directory. It's something you can easily change if you need to do so in your own app.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 4.467 seconds with 15 queries.