Crystal Space
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 24, 2014, 01:32:45 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
9018 Posts in 2051 Topics by 8506 Members
Latest Member: Neron5
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Crystal Space
|-+  Crystal Space Development
| |-+  General Crystal Space Discussion
| | |-+  Texture colours dont appear as they should
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Texture colours dont appear as they should  (Read 5441 times)
FCP
Guest


Email
« on: February 28, 2006, 03:48:27 pm »

The problem is exaclty what is says on the tin - texture colours seem to be broken and very dark - i.e it displays light blue for white and dark (blood) red for orange and red. I am guessing its a pallette issue - but how to fix it? Btw textures were created in MSPAINT Smiley if thats an issue....
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2006, 03:49:46 pm »

The problem is exaclty what is says on the tin - texture colours seem to be broken and very dark - i.e it displays light blue for white and dark (blood) red for orange and red. I am guessing its a pallette issue - but how to fix it? Btw textures were created in MSPAINT Smiley if thats an issue....

How are you using the texture? Note that lighting also affects how a texture looks. Did you add lights to your scene? Otherwise you get just ambient which is very dark.

Greetings,
Logged
FCP
Guest


Email
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2006, 03:54:53 pm »

This is the ligth I am using:

<light name="sun">
<center x="500000" y="866030" z="0" />
<radius>0</radius>
<color red="0.85903" green="0.80995" blue="0.70420" />
<influenceradius>10000000</influenceradius>
<attenuation>realistic</attenuation>
</light>

It should be powerfull enough to light up the whole level, no?

The texture itself:
<texture name="arrow">
<file>arrow.png</file>
</texture>

The material:
<material name="sqr">
<texture>arrow</texture>
</material>

And then its later called during mesh creation.
Is anything wrong with that?
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2006, 03:58:53 pm »

This is the ligth I am using:

<light name="sun">
<center x="500000" y="866030" z="0" />
<radius>0</radius>
<color red="0.85903" green="0.80995" blue="0.70420" />
<influenceradius>10000000</influenceradius>
<attenuation>realistic</attenuation>
</light>

It should be powerfull enough to light up the whole level, no?

The texture itself:
<texture name="arrow">
<file>arrow.png</file>
</texture>

The material:
<material name="sqr">
<texture>arrow</texture>
</material>

And then its later called during mesh creation.
Is anything wrong with that?

Ok, now I need to see how you create the object.

Greetings,
Logged
FCP
Guest


Email
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2006, 04:03:21 pm »

Mesh is created as following:
<meshobj name="Square">
  <plugin>crystalspace.mesh.loader.thing</plugin>
 
 
  <params>
      <v x="0" y="-4.5" z="0" />
    <v x="0" y="-4.5" z="10" />   
   
    <v x="0" y="-4.5" z="0" />
    <v x="-10" y="-4.5" z="10" />
   
    <v x="-10" y="-4.5" z="0" />
    <v x="-10" y="-4.5" z="10" />
   
    <v x="-10" y="-4.5" z="0" />
    <v x="-10" y="-4.5" z="10" />

    <material>sqr</material>
   
    <p name="up">
      <v>3</v> <v>7</v> <v>6</v> <v>2</v>
   
    </p>
     <p name="north">
      <v>1</v> <v>5</v> <v>7</v> <v>3</v>
     </p>
        <p name="east">
            <v>5</v> <v>4</v> <v>6</v> <v>7</v>
        </p>
        <p name="south">
            <v>4</v> <v>0</v> <v>2</v> <v>6</v>
        </p>
        <p name="west">
            <v>0</v> <v>1</v> <v>3</v> <v>2</v>
        </p>
    <p name="down">
      <v>0</v> <v>4</v> <v>5</v> <v>1</v>
    </p>
   
  </params>
 </meshobj>
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2006, 04:05:09 pm »

So all this is in one world file? Did you relight the level to calculate the lightmaps?

Greetings,
Logged
FCP
Guest


Email
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2006, 04:10:06 pm »

Yep all that in one worldfile and the -relight command doesnt produce any obvious changes.

Could it have something to do with shader definition?
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2006, 04:11:14 pm »

Yep all that in one worldfile and the -relight command doesnt produce any obvious changes.

Could it have something to do with shader definition?

Are you using shaders?

Anyway, can you show me a screenshot of what you're seeing? That will help find out what is actually wrong.

Greetings,
Logged
FCP
Guest


Email
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2006, 04:18:53 pm »

http://www.redbrick.dcu.ie/~fanboy/

arrow is the texture and the screenshot is what I am seeing.

The mesh is just a flat square.
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2006, 04:24:59 pm »

Can you try by using 'radius' instead of influenceradius for the light?
Also try other attenuations.

Greetings,
Logged
FCP
Guest


Email
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2006, 04:29:54 pm »

The change of influenceradius to radius failled to do anything, what other attenuation settings are there?
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2006, 04:30:59 pm »

The change of influenceradius to radius failled to do anything, what other attenuation settings are there?

inverse, none, and just removing the line as such. Anyway if you fail to fix this then please give me the entire world file so I can try it out myself.

Greetings,
Logged
FCP
Guest


Email
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2006, 04:50:27 pm »

Ok the file (exp2) is on my webspace.

Thanks for helping out btw, I have a demo to show tomorrow.... (lukily all apart this minor bug is working properly though).
Logged
FCP
Guest


Email
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2006, 04:54:55 pm »

All the texture files are there btw, let me know if I forgot something.
Logged
jorrit
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1706


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2006, 06:52:58 pm »

Ah you should have told me you are using std_rloop_shadowed! That changes a great deal. Anyway I can't really test this here as that isn't working on my computer here so I have to wait until tomorrow.

Greetings,
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 3.313 seconds with 12 queries.