Crystal Space
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2014, 03:40:01 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
9018 Posts in 2046 Topics by 9096 Members
Latest Member: Jolaoslup
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Crystal Space
|-+  Crystal Space Project Development
| |-+  Development Discussion
| | |-+  Decals (I'll help too!)
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Decals (I'll help too!)  (Read 4992 times)
SkyRenderX

View Profile
« on: May 04, 2006, 02:03:48 am »

I am a graduate student with a great interest in game development.  As is typical for a college student, the time requirement imposed by my studies makes pursuing personal projects a difficult matter.  This means that I have been unable to find the time to work with projects such as Crystal Space.

If all goes well this may soon change.

Having heard of the Summer of Code program, I was excited to find the Crystal Space project as a participant.  If selected as a participant, my entire summer will be freed up to work on something that truly interests me (game engine development).  I have experience working with OpenGL and 3D graphics, and am confidant that I will be able to learn inner workings of Crystal Space.

I am most interested in the Decals project (http://www.crystalspace3d.org/tikiwiki/tiki-index.php?page=Decals).  Could someone explain the proposed implementation details a bit more?  I would like to get a better feel for the project before I submit a proposal.  Here are my questions:

What are the difficulties involved in attaching a decal to a moving object rather than a static mesh?

Also, the decals API page mentions the implementation of a z-bias.  To my understanding, this feature is not implemented in all 3D cards.  Would I be correct to assume that this would be implemented entirely in software?