Crystal Space
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 22, 2014, 11:48:29 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
9032 Posts in 2046 Topics by 9306 Members
Latest Member: Marjoriechapp
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Crystal Space
|-+  Crystal Space Development
| |-+  Game Content Creation
| | |-+  General Mesh-Related Questions
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: General Mesh-Related Questions  (Read 3731 times)
yoshi

View Profile WWW
« on: January 30, 2005, 08:17:39 am »

I'm rather new to CS, 3D modeling, game-creating, etc. so I still have some pretty big questions that keep me up at night, especially when it comes to meshes.  If anyone can answer or offer advice on any of my questions, then that'd be wonderful.

1. Ok, first of all, I intend to use Cal3D for the models and I know it uses bones.  In the CS manual, I discovered that CS also supports morph animation, which I intend to use for some simple facial animation.  I was wondering: is it possible to combine different types of animation on a single mesh?  What I mean is... suppose I create a walking animation with my model using bones.  Then, on the same model, I create a smiling animation using morph targets.  When I load the model into meshviewer, is it possible to make my model walk AND smile at the same time?  (This is all assuming the mesh is NOT divided into separate parts, such as head, upper body, arms, lower body, legs, etc.)

2. On a related note, I was wondering... is it possible to make the head of my model move around dynamically?  Like, in Final Fantasy 9, when you walked around town, Zidane would move his head to look at another character until he got far enough away - at which point, his head would return to looking straight ahead of him.  Is this possible without making the head a separate mesh object?  If not, how would you avoid the crease that would show between the head and neck?