Crystal Space
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 22, 2014, 11:52:45 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
9032 Posts in 2046 Topics by 9302 Members
Latest Member: Janrdym
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Crystal Space
|-+  Crystal Space Development
| |-+  General Crystal Space Discussion
| | |-+  Need Help Understanding Smart Pointers/Abstract Classes
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Need Help Understanding Smart Pointers/Abstract Classes  (Read 2538 times)
yoshi

View Profile WWW
« on: July 29, 2005, 08:26:15 am »

Hi, it's been a while.

(For those who do not want to read all this, see summary at the bottom).

I read the CS Manual section on how to correctly use smart pointers, but I still have questions about it.  I've had a few years of experience with C++ but no proper education in computer science, so I don't know much about advanced programming topics like reference counting or abstract classes, two things which CS seems to use extensively.

I understand that you use csRef when you want to own a reference to a reference-counted object (I have a vague understanding of what reference counting is, courtesy of wikipedia).  So I figure, pointers to important things like iEngine, iGraphics3D, iView, etc. should be csRefs.  Fine.  So I set out to create a wrapper class for the camera, containing normal pointers to iCamera and iCameraPosition as private members.  I figure, "Hey, they're not big, important objects like the engine, so being normal pointers should suffice."  At some point I assigned my iCamera pointer to a new iCamera.  When I went to compile it, MSVC flags an error saying abstract classes cannot be instantiated.  Baffled by this, I look up what an abstract class is, and from what I understand, they're classes with pure virtual functions in them.

I think "Wait a minute... that's like, <exaggeration>every</exaggeration> CS class there is."